The Best Answer To Job Interview Questions Part 3

11) Have you ever had difficulty working with a manager?

Review sample answers to the interview question “Have you ever had difficulty working with a manager?” Be careful answering questions about previous managers. You don’t want to come across as difficult, and you want to cast any past experiences in the most positive light possible.

  • I had a rocky start with a manager once, because we had different expectations for the flow of the workday. Once we talked about it, we realized that our goals were very compatible, and we were able to work very successfully together for several years.
  • I have found that if I take the time to talk with my manager at the beginning of a project, we can all get off to a great start on the same page.
  • I would say that I have never really had a problem working with anyone. I try to find our common ground, and get along with everyone’s different personality.

12) Have you gotten angry at work? What happened?

When the interviewer asks “When Was The Last Time You Were Angry? What Happened?”  he or she wants to know if you lose control.  The real meaning of the word “angry”, to an interviewer, is loss of control and it’s important to know how you handle situations when you’re angry.

Best Answer

Anger to me means loss of control.  I do not lose control.  When I get stressed, I step back, take a deep breath, thoughtfully think through the situation and then begin to formulate a plan of action.

13) How do you handle pressure?

A typical interview question, asked to get a sense of how you handle on-the-job stress, is “How do you handle pressure?”  Examples of good responses include:

  • Stress is very important to me. With stress, I do the best possible job. The appropriate way to deal with stress is to make sure I have the correct balance between good stress and bad stress. I need good stress to stay motivated and productive.
  • I react to situations, rather than to stress. That way, the situation is handled and doesn’t become stressful.
  • I actually work better under pressure and I’ve found that I enjoy working in a challenging environment.
  • From a personal perspective, I manage stress by visiting the gym every evening. It’s a great stress reducer.
  • Prioritizing my responsibilities so I have a clear idea of what needs to be done when, has helped me effectively manage pressure on the job.
  • If the people I am managing are contributing to my stress level, I discuss options for better handling difficult situations with them.
  • I find that when I’m under the pressure of a deadline, I can do some of my most creative work.
  • I’m not a person who has a difficult time with stress. When I’m under pressure, I focus, and get the job done.
  • I find it exhilarating to be in a dynamic environment where the pressure is on.
  • I find a past pace to be invigorating, and thrive when the pressure is on.
  • I’ve done some of my best work under tight deadlines, where the atmosphere was very stressful.
  • I’m the kind of person who stays calm under pressure, and handles stress fairly easily.

It’s a good idea to give examples of how you have handled stress to your interviewer. That way, they get a clear picture how well you can work in stressful situations.

14) How do you measure success?

I evaluate success in different ways.  At work, it is meeting the goals set by my supervisors and my fellow workers.   It is my understanding, from talking to other employees, that the GGR company is recognized for not only rewarding success, but giving employees opportunity to grow as well.  After work,  I enjoy playing softball, so success  on the field is catching the winning pop-up.

15) How long do you expect to work for this company?

Review sample answers to the interview question “How long do you expect to remain employed with this company?”  When you respond, be sure to frame your response so that it’s positive.

I’ve heard applicants say that they only want the job for a short amount of time or are planning to relocate or go back to school.  Responses like that aren’t going to impress the hiring manager who is looking to hire a long-term employee.

Sample Answers

  • I believe that this company has the capacity to offer me a rich and satisfying career, and I would like to remain employed here for as long as I am having a positive impact.
  • I would like to pursue my career here for as long as I have the opportunity to.
  • I would like to remain employed here for as long as my services are needed.

 

 

Source:

Tagged
